Citizenship

<p>I'm a legal resident, but I do have the option of becoming a citizen. Other than the cost, which is $700, quite a hefty sum, becoming a citizen wouldn't be a problem.</p>

<p>How much of an advantage is being a citizen over a resident when it comes to admission (I'd imagine this is none), financial aid, scholarship opportunities, etc.?</p>

<p>It’s my understanding that for college admissions and need based FA, residents and citizens are treated the same. But not having had this situation personally, I don’t have much experience, anyone else know differently?</p>

<p>There may very well be some scholarships that are for citizens only. For NHRP, you can be either a citizen or resident, I don’t know for the other major Hispanic scholarship organizations or for institutional merit aid.</p>

<p>I had a green card for many years (25?) and never encountered any differences with financial aid as a student. This may be changing and may affect scholarships so PLEASE check with the schools you are interested in. Talk to their financial aid office and make sure that you will not be penalized in anyway by delaying citizenship. Also, be careful to have multipl copies of your green card and, should you naturalize, make copies of your naturalization certificate and PUT THE DARN THING IN A safe deposit box! IT IS VERY diffficult to replace. </p>

<p>The one very, very odd requirement that I encountered (and I hope it is gone) was that as a female non-citizen, everytime I got a pell grant or subsidized government loan I had to sign a paper that said (this is not a joke) “If I were a man, I would sign up for the selective service”…all males now and then that recieve financial aid must swear that they have registered with the selective service. Why only non-citizen women had to sign this totally mystified me…why not have all women sign this “catch 22”-like document? If we are going to get weird why not subject al poor women not just non citizens to this absurdity!</p>