College Applications

Hello! I am currently a senior in high school and am also the first to go to college in the United States. My parents are from Romania and know nothing about the system here in the US, so I’m taking matters into my own hands. Even though I am in IB and have a really high GPA (4.37 weighted), I am not good at writing and am really struggling with my PIQs for the UC applications. I keep making them too sappy and I honestly can’t think of anything noteworthy that I’ve done. Along with this, because my parents knew nothing about college, I never got the chance to learn about the SAT or the ACT options until it was too late. In fact, I’ve never even heard of the PSAT until my sophomore year the week before I had to take it. I was trying to sign up for the SAT early spring 2020, but everything got canceled due to COVID-19. The August, September, and October dates also were all full in my area. The ACT dates are also full and I cannot take it until December which is past application due dates for the UCs. Therefore, I have no choice but to take my first and only SAT November 7th. I’m extremely worried about my future regarding my application and my SAT. I have no idea where to start studying or what to do to prepare myself for both the SAT and the applications.

My PSAT was 1190 if anyone was curious. I know it’s low, but I also did not study for it because I did not know it existed.

The UC’s are test optional this year and next, so the ACT or SAT will not be required. A good score can help your chances, a low score could possibly impact your chances so I would not submit if below the 50th percentile and no score would be neutral since many students are facing the same issues with the SAT or ACT.

The UC’s will accept up to the December SAT/ACT test dates even though the application is due at the end of November.