Common Myths about Boston University

(Inspired by person500’s thread about CWRU, another amazing school)

Hello everyone. I am a current freshman at Boston University in the College of Arts and Sciences, and I think this school is phenomenal. However, I have constantly been hearing blatant misinformation about this school from other people, which is frankly quite annoying. Thus, I’d like to dispel each of these myths myself, so that applicants and parents can hopefully have a clearer picture of what this school is really like. I want to keep this introduction brief, so let’s get right into it.

Myth #1: BU is a safety school

This is just false. BU is a safety school for no one, period. Let me ask you all this: Do you honestly think that a school with an 11% acceptance rate, an average unweighted GPA of 3.9, and an average SAT of ~1500 qualifies as a safety for anyone? I certainly don’t think so. It always baffles me when people say that this school is a safety, yet schools like Northwestern and Dartmouth have similar admissions statistics, and some consider those to be reaches for everyone. Do you all honestly believe that a higher USNWR ranking (haha…) automatically makes these schools harder to get into or something? If so, I don’t see an actual correlation. If you want to bring up the difficulty of essay prompts, then that’s entirely subjective.

Myth #2: BU is a budget Cornell

There are four types of people that say something as ridiculous as this:

1. People who are jealous that they couldn’t get in
  2. People who are obsessed with rankings
  3. People who just want to rile others up for the sake of whatever
  4. People who simply have no idea what they’re talking about