computer science-type education if majoring in math, not engineering?

My son was just accepted at VT, but NOT to his first choice, the engineering college. He was accepted to his second choice major, math.

In the accompanying letter, we are cautioned that transfer into engineering is uncertain. More ominously, the letter says that enrollment in engineering courses may not be possible for non-engineering students. And that kids who transfer into engineering often have to take a 5th (gulp!) year to complete all the requirements.

My son has wanted to major in computer science for a very long time. He is currently taking advanced CS in high school and will take the AP exam in CS in May.

I’m a computer scientist myself. I majored in CS as an undergraduate (not at VT) and completed a PhD in CS. I’m currently employed in that field. So I am familiar with both the CS curriculum and the career options.

Some of my colleagues in my field majored in math as undergraduates. However, I assume they were able to take computer-related courses and not just theoretical math ones.

Can someone “in the know” tell me what are his prospects for getting into computer science courses if he’s majoring in math? Or more generally, what are his prospects for getting an education compatible with employment in CS or doing an advanced degree in it?

My son was already accepted into the engineering school at Penn State. I’m thinking this may be his better option, but he has it in his head that VT is a “better” school.

If you don’t get a response, here, you may want to reach out to someone in the math department. Tell them that you’re concerned your son may have difficulty completing a minor in CS and ask them about access to CS classes. Whomever does undergraduate advising should be able to answer that question.

https://www.math.vt.edu/about.php

You may also want to ask the same question to someone in the CS program and the requirements needed for a CS minor.