CS Dept

<p>I’ve gotten mixed reviews on the CS program.</p>

<p>Can any current or former students provide any insight?</p>

<p>Sent from my SCH-R760 using CC</p>

<p>Welcome back riprorin - my S just told me your S had decided on Bama. My S is very psyched and he said your S is too. :)</p>

<p>I’m sure they will both maximize their opportunities in the CS department, but I am also looking forward to any insight from current/former CS students or parents.</p>

<p>Does your S have any interest in the STEM MBA program? My S is doing that.</p>

<p>Certainly not a student is the CS dept, but I am a hiring manager in IT who has interviewed a number of Bama kids for jobs. I, and my peers, have always been very impressed with how well prepared the Bama kids are compared to kids from other schools. </p>

<p>Roll Tide !!</p>

<p>One of my son’s friends graduated last Dec with a CS degree. She had immediate employment. She is a very smart girl, we’ve known her since high school, and she really enjoyed the program, the profs, and projects. </p>

<p>If you have any questions, you should contact Dr. David Cordes. He’s the dept head, and he’s also the director of the Freshman Eng’g Program. </p>

<p>David Cordes, Professor and Department Head
Department of Computer Science
Director, Freshman Engineering Program
University of Alabama</p>

<p>101 Houser Hall
Box 870290
Tuscaloosa, AL* 35487-0290</p>

<p>205-348-6363
205-348-0219 (FAX)
<a href=“mailto:cordes@cs.ua.edu”>cordes@cs.ua.edu</a></p>

<p>I’d be interested if you could elaborate on the “mixed reviews” that you have gotten, Riprorin. What are the problem areas…and are these legit concerns, or just hear-say? I’m sure parents/students in current CS program will elaborate for you, but point them in the direction that you have concerns.</p>