Current investment banker and former CC user - AMA

Hi everyone - figured I’d offer to do an AMA on investment banking careers as a current investment banker that was a frequent user of CC when I was in high school and going through the college application process. Feel free to ask me any questions on investment banking careers, internships, the recruiting process, or college decision questions. Happy to offer my perspective if at all helpful to current HSers and college students!

MODERATOR’S NOTE:

This is an verified AMA, anonymous_nyc is legit!

Thanks for taking time to do this.
I am a college 1st year student - on track to major in Math and CS at a top-10 college. I wasnt able to get any IB internships this summer (got a tech internship). How important it is to have internships to get into IB and how to get that first internship role? What majors are looked favorably (in other wordes a pure math/cs is ok? or they look for a finance coursework as well).

I applied to several IB internships this summer - not even a single firm even offered to interview me. In the tech side things are not great either (blind/online/careerservice applications sent: 40; not a single interview - finally got this role through a referral). In the single interview that I received everyone was impressed with my background and got the offer - but getting to the interview round seems difficult. wondering what I am doing wrong and how to improve my chances for next summer.
TIA.

IB internships first year are rare, not that common second year, and pretty much essential third year.

Even for math/cs, internships first year that are earned purely on merit (as opposed to family referrals) are uncommon. Most students haven’t developed that much skill in CS yet.

5 Likes