Dartmouth vs. UCLA [political science pre-law]

Hi everyone! I was recently accepted into both Dartmouth (Government) and UCLA (Political Science). I’m a Southern California resident having a difficult time choosing between the two schools.

Dartmouth was the only school where I received financial aid, and I got enough to where it would be feasible for me to attend. I did not receive any aid from UCLA, but since I’m in-state, it is still cheaper than Dartmouth.

I am going to apply to law school, so I want to go somewhere where I know that I am going to be supported in the application process. The location of Dartmouth does scare me a little though, especially as someone who has grown up in SoCal her entire life. I know I would be able to adapt, but I also know I would be more comfortable being in LA. The main thing for me is if the Political Science/pre-law programs and resources at Dartmouth are worth it for me to give up the location benefit of UCLA for. I can provide more information on my thoughts if needed. Thanks so much!

Have you looked at pre law advising of both. Don’t just assume Dartmouth is better.

If you spend for undergrad, how will you afford law school ? Maybe you need to save.

In some ways College is about growth so it’s ok to leave home. On the other hand if you struggle and grades suffer, that won’t be good for law school.

Both are fine schools.

Good luck.

Then…stay in LA. If the location makes you happy, you will be a happier college student…and happy students do better than ones who aren’t happy.

Also…are you prepared for New Hampshire (long) winters?

3 Likes

For pre-law, you can do any major; the main criteria for law school admission are LSAT and college GPA (recalculated).

UCLA does have the possibility of A+ grades (= 4.33 for law school admission purposes, but 4.0 for UC purposes), but Dartmouth probably has higher grade inflation in general.