Deciding whether to attend grad school now, or wait

Hello, this is my first post so apologies if I am doing something wrong. I just don’t know what to do anymore and I am torn.

I graduated Chemical Engineering BS in 2020 (GPA 3.76), and have been working in a large pharma company as an automation engineer for 2.5-3 years. I want to go back to grad school because I hate my job and career choice and want to switch to more robotics/ML/AI applications (The only part of automation I enjoy).

Long story short, last year I spent an entire year and 5000$ on GRE test prep, took the test twice and ended up getting a mediocre score both times. I just cannot do the GRE anymore, I just can’t. It ruined me psychologically.

luckily I saw that one of the programs I was applying to (Duke Mechanical Engineering Masters with concentration in Robotics with ML applications) didn’t require GRE so I applied. It was the only program I had time to apply to last cycle. Now I got accepted but have FOMO if I am making the right choice since I didn’t have any other college to apply to.

As far as cost goes, I can pay while taking loans and perhaps will have worst case ~40k in loans.

The only issue now is; do I wait for the next cycle or go this cycle? I haven’t paid anything yet. One part of my brain is like “what if you could get into more competitive engineering programs like dream schools (UC Berkeley, Cal tech, cornell, stanford etc.)” and the other part of my brain is like “what if they require the GRE again this cycle? then you are actually screwed and can’t apply AND you loose out on Duke”.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, I am really suffering mentally.

1 Like

Duke is a really good school and not much different than the other schools you are thinking of. If you really want to go back to Grad school, and Duke has the program you want, go ahead. Remember that the bird in the hand is worth more than 2 in the bush.

12 Likes