Do You Agree With Affirmative Action?

As a white student, I have to say I hate the idea of it. Don’t get me wrong - I understand that it’s not giving a significant boost, I understand that race alone does not get one into a school. But overall, I think it’s unfair. Why should it be “harder” for Asians, and “easier” for minorities?

I live in a very white populated area - there are maybe 2 black students in my graduating class, and I really want an opinion of affirmative action from the other side.

Please give me the reasons as to why you do or do not agree with affirmative action.

I’m sure this has been asked 1000x in different ways, but I’d like fresh opinions.

Thanks

There is a specific thread for discussion on affirmative action. Please refer to that.

@jamesjunkers‌ “As a white student, I have to say I hate the idea of it.”

Wow, you hate the idea of a societal catalyst that doesn’t benefit you? What’s “unfair” is that the disadvantages in education black students face start as young at Pre-K, the lack of funding in urban school districts, and the lack of resources in many black communities.

Thinking compassionately, you did make it clear you were not from a very diverse area, so opportunities to learn about such a topic may be scarce.

I think this WP article explains it pretty well. http://www.washingtonpost.com/blogs/answer-sheet/wp/2014/07/03/why-we-still-need-affirmative-action-for-african-americans-in-college-admissions/

“I really want an opinion of affirmative action from the other side.” you mean you want to find a token black person in this thread who agrees with you on AA so you can quote him/her to your friends and feel less racist

Why can’t white people stay in their lane? Why do white people always have to interfere in black spaces?