Engineering Honors Decision Came Today

My son received an email today that he’s accepted into A&M Engineering’s Brown Honors Program (not University Honors). I would love some input from parents about this program. Is this the correct forum? I’m a College Confidential newbie. Thank you!

Congratulations! My daughter was just notified as well. Is your son planning to live in the Engineering Honors LLC at the Commons? My dtr chose space over the LLC & is hoping for a northside modular dorm.

Our younger son received notification this morning that he was accepted into honors. Our older son is a sophomore Engineering student that was also in honors and was part of ECOS (Engineering Honors) in Mosher. He liked living in Mosher but felt like he did not get much out of being in the ECOS program. I’ve heard other students felt like they benefited. The main factor for our younger son applying for honors is the ability to register before most students in the Spring.

Thanks so much - my son does NOT want to live in an honors LLC, so that isn’t a factor; he is interested in the priority registration and the faculty contact, honors classes etc. Do you know what percentage of the Engineering students are in Engineering Brown Honors Program?

Also, my son really wants a single room. He listed his housing preference in Phase 2 as Hullaballo single suite. Assuming he advances from National Merit Semifinalist to Finalist, we have told him he can pick any price range of room because of how generous the National Merit tuition awards are. My husband and I didn’t go to school in Texas, and he’s our oldest, so we are really flying blind here!

Son got in as well. I read a mixed feedback regarding coe honors vs. university honors and some seem to prefer uh. I feel either way will be great. IMO, it’s more about the environment. On a side note, does anyone know if this will come with department scholarship?