Essay help for Madison?

Lately, I’ve been pretty stumped when it comes to college application essays. Whenever I am given a prompt, I feel as if it’s a trick question and I have to answer it a certain way to get the admission officers to be drawn to my essay. I do consider myself a pretty talented writer, but I do have areas where I need to improve. In Madison’s application, the prompt question is, “Consider something in your life you think goes unnoticed and write about why it’s important to you.”

I’ve spent weeks debating to myself and writing out rough drafts, but none of them seem to please me. I am a good creative writer and write a lot of my own books, so I want to find a way to incorporate that into my essays. Would you say that it’s good to add my own little twist to my essays, or should I stick to a more traditional essay format?

Also, for the prompt itself: I want to write about how my efforts go unnoticed, but would that be too self centered? I want to talk about growing up Asian has set up unbelievable checkpoints for me by society. But, at the same time, I’m worried that I make the people who read the essays upset that I said that Asians are graded on a harsher scale, even when it comes to applying for colleges.

I personally enjoyed writing about clocks for my essay. I think simple technology is an excellent topic! Most people try to come up with “deeper” topics like effort, or other struggles, and I think it makes you stand out when you do something completely different. It worked out for me! Write about something you genuinely find interesting, don’t just be the same as everyone else.

I would advise against going anywhere near topics that are related to the controversies of affirmative action. You do not want to say or imply in your essay that you think Asians are held to a higher standard in college applications.