Madison essay prompt #1

<p>If you could please review my essay for madisons first essay prompt which is...Consider something in your life you think goes unnoticed and write about why it's important to you! Heres my essay...let me know and thanks in advance for your critiques
When applying to colleges, my friends knew what to do. Apply to the schools their parents had attended, pay the tuition, and go on to succeed. That was exactly what I wanted to do, but the problem was, no one in my family had attended college or even graduated high school. I knew I wanted to go to college and I was determined to continue my education but in the process, I became a little lost. What goes unnoticed about me is that I am a first generation college student. I am currently attending the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee but the journey to get there was hard and overwhelming.
In my high school, there weren’t many first generation college students. Most people I knew had older siblings or parents who helped them with their essays, the application process, and even the fees that came with applying. I had to explain to my parents what it all meant without me completely knowing what to do myself. I didn’t know the importance of volunteering or of an ACT score because no one I knew had gone through it. And in every step of applying, there was a fee. There was even a little while when I debated on whether or not to attend college because of the financial burden it would put on my family. Although my parents tried to be apart and help out, it was difficult for them to understand what I was going through.