FAFSA gift reporting

Hi.
I’m in my first year in college and unemployed, but receive ~3k a month in support starting in Feb 2022.
When filling out the FAFSA for Fall 23/Spring 24, I mistakenly didn’t include it, so I went in to correct the form and included the ~$30,000/yr support. After I submitted this correction, I started to wonder if I was supposed to even do that this year, or was I supposed to wait for next year (24/25)?

I tried asking on the FAFSA live chat, but the guy I was talking to didn’t seem to understand my question and kept providing me with useless information for the first five minutes that had nothing to do with my problem. Then he indicated that I need to report anything occurring within the 2 years (2021-2022) for my 23/24 form. I just want to know if this is correct, and if I did it properly, or if I will need to make another correction.

Income (including the monthly support that you describe) that you received in 2022 would not be reported on the 2023-2024 FAFSA. When reporting income, FAFSA looks back two years, so on the 2023-2024 FAFSA, that would be income received in 2021.

2 Likes

This is the information that I have read from users online, but I wanted to “double check” it against a FAFSA employee. When he couldn’t comprehend my first sentences (like you did), it was a big tip to me that I need to try and find solid outside information again. Could you explain how you know this? I’m not trying to challenge you, I just want access to the same information so I can save it for my own records. Is there a way you could point me to that if you have the time? Also, I genuinely appreciate the time you’ve taken to respond. Thank you so very much.

See the description for question 41: https://studentaid.gov/sites/default/files/2023-24-fafsa.pdf. It says: 41. Student’s 2021 Untaxed Income (Enter the combined amounts for you and your spouse.)