Fall 2013 or Spring 2014?

<p>I am an international student. I was admitted for the fall 2013 but due to certain reasons I have not been able to attend the university.</p>

<p>And now I have the option of deferring my admission to the spring or attending the a few days late, like 10-14 days late. The university says that deferring will be better because I'll have to cope with the course load , have to register for classes late, and have to deal with settling problems and all.</p>

<p>I really don't know what to do? Is deferring a better option? I've heard spring admits get less opportunities (internships and all) and certain other disadvantages.</p>

<p>What do you guys think ? Should I go for fall and put up with all of that? Or should I defer?</p>

<p>I would think it would be terribly difficult to catch up being 2 weeks late on all your classes.</p>

<p>Internships don’t start right away, most are junior/senior year. Take summer school courses to ‘catch up’ and you’ll be back on track. Someone who knows the system would have a difficult time with a 2 week absence, totally new - you’d really struggle, not a great way to start. Anxious to start? Try a CC( like Blinn) for a class that transfers.</p>

<p>Are spring admits at any disadvantage compared to the fall admits?</p>

<p>I know a spring admit very well and have been a fly on the wall for much of her enrollment process. There are only two disadvantages that she talks about, and it’s possible that neither will affect you since you were already accepted for the fall and just unable to start at that time.</p>

<p>On occasion, she thinks she has a little less of “the inside scoop” because she didn’t attend Fish Camp of any of the other orientation programs that most of the other students attended. It’s not a really big deal to her, but she has occasionally notices the difference.</p>