Federal Work Study

<p>Did anyone do any federal work study stuff at Tech? I mean what sort of jobs are there? I don't want to do jobs like cleaning, library stuff etc. I don't want to waste my time. But, I was wondering if there are any research positions that I can get. If not, I am going to cancel my work study.</p>

<p>Research positions aren’t available through work study. That’s undergraduate research and is normally not a paid position. </p>

<p>I don’t really know what qualifies as a work study or not, but I was a Software Developer for Virginia Tech and got paid $15 a hour through a work study. Not only did I get paid more than everyone else, but I got to choose my hours, didn’t have to come in when I had a major project/testing coming up, plus I got almost a full year of programming experience which looked good when I wanted to get an internship. When the money ran out, the school paid the rest. Pretty legit stuff. </p>

<p>To look for a work study job, go to <a href=“https://www.myinterfase.com/vt/Account/LogOn?ReturnUrl=%2Fvt%2Fstudent”>https://www.myinterfase.com/vt/Account/LogOn?ReturnUrl=%2Fvt%2Fstudent&lt;/a&gt; and login (instructions to sign up for the first time are on the website) , then hover over “jobs” in the gold bar at the top then click "Search for Work Study Jobs’', then look for a job. Not all of them are that bad. </p>

<p>@CloudyCloud‌ That is really cool! Did they have an interview or something. I mean what sort of work were you responsible for? If I accept my work study and decide not to do it because I wasn’t able to get the job that I wanted, is that ok if my parents are willing to cover that 1500 dollars or whatever?</p>

<p>Also, when did you apply? Like during the summer or what?</p>

<p>I did mostly web development. There were a couple times faculty members from different departments would need an extra programmer to work on a project and they’d come steal me. </p>