For Computer Science, at What Point is it Advisable to Consider Cost or Prestige?

So, the title pretty much sums it up.

S22 likely will be a NMF. It’s not official (and will not be until later this month), but he has the selection index and qualifying score. So, now the quandary (and it is a nice one to have), do you chase prestige or money?

S22 wants to do computer science. We are in Tennessee (so the best schools are OOS). We have a fixed budget of roughly $45K/year. S22 has a 3.95 unweighted GPA, is an IB diploma student with 4 HLs (with HLs in Math, Business, Physics, and English), and a 34 on the ACT. He is president of his high school robotics team. He is a well-qualified student (and there are thousands like him out there).

But, being a lawyer, I know nothing about computer science. At what point does prestige matter? I am sure that S22 will want to go to grad school. So, being able to graduate from undergraduate and graduate school debt free would be nice. Alabama is free (for five years, I mean it’s like backing a dumptruck of money for NMFs). Arizona State has nice scholarships. But, are they adequate for a future in computer science? Texas A&M has a nice in-state option (though there is ETAM). Do you take a few shots? If so, what schools? Considered advice appreciated. Thanks.

Don’t assume this. Things change. The reality is that most CS and SE grads do not go to graduate school.

This depends on who you ask. Some companies have pet schools. Most of those schools are longshots though like CMU, Harvey-Mudd, Stanford, etc., and all would be well outside your price range.

Most of salary is based on location and company, regardless of the school.

I say don’t break the bank. Think of what your son’s life would be like if he went to one of the free options, you invested the difference, and gave him the money 30 or 40 years later.