For new UC admits, how good was your merit aid scholarships?

Hi! I’ve been looking to apply as an electrical engineering major to a few UC schools, namely UCLA, UCSD and UC Davis, because of the environment (weather/location/area) and the solid educational programs they offer for engineers. However, I’m unsure how the merit aid will be, considering I’m an out-of-state student (Alaska). My sister is already in college as a sophomore, and I don’t want the cost to be overwhelming for my parents.

As the title says, I was wondering on how good the merit aid scholarships were for this year’s incoming class from the UC schools listed above, and if there are other UC schools I should consider. Thank you for your help!

Additional info: Asian from Alaska, first-gen, , 1500 SAT, middle-class family, sister will be attending college as a junior/senior during my first two years

UC’s give little to no financial aid (need-based or merit) to OOS students. You should expect to pay full fees at $65K/year to attend. I advise you to run the Net price calculator for all UC’s of interest.
Regent and Chancellor scholarships are the main merit scholarships found at the UC’s and they do have a need-based aid component for in-state students. Here is some information:

UC Regents Scholarships and amounts:
Amount: Awards vary by campus and are not transferable if you transfer to another UC campus.

• UC Berkley $2,500
  • UC Davis $7,500
  • UC Irvine $5,000 edited with updated amount
  • UCLA $2,000
  • UC Merced $7,000
  • UC Riverside $10,000
  • UC San Diego $2,000
  • UC Santa Barbara $6,000
  • UC Santa Cruz $5,000

In addition, certain perks are provided to Regents recipients: priority registration, extended library privileges, honors dormitories, faculty mentorship, and others, dependent upon campus.

Number of Scholarships Awarded: Varies annually—students in the top 1-2% of the applicant pool are considered for the scholarship.