Foreign language at CC

Hopefully this is in the right area.
I attend a cc and I am nine classes away from completing two AA degrees.I plan on becoming a teacher and would love to teach english abroad or in an immersion school in the US.
I realized that my class schedule for next year isn’t really full like I’m used to (basically 3 classes per quarter). Is it a good idea to add in a couple French classes while I’m still at cc or wait until I transfer. I studied the language in high school and have been self studying since. I did take one class in college but took some time off from school
I have been thinking about using these courses so that I could possibly minor in French once I transfer. However, I’m not sure if it would be best to take them at cc or wait to transfer to prepare for the minor.

1 Like

IMHO this really is up to you. It seems like an issue of how much time and effort you want to put into your studies, and perhaps how good the courses are at your CC.

To me learning a second language is not easy and takes commitment over time. At least to me it seems a lot easier to learn a second language if you have an opportunity to use it. For example there are some French movies on Netflix that you could watch. There is also an option of taking a French immersion course. There are some very good (and reasonably priced) French immersion courses available during the summer at some universities in Canada. These are available regardless of your current level of fluency.

1 Like