Future Badgers Advice

<p>I am a current student. As a freshman, Wisconsin has been an incredible experience so far. My expectations were high, and virtually every expectation has been exceeded in my short time in Madison. The professors are top notch, the support when you need assistance is incredible, the activities are outstanding. I am in a few clubs, and I participate in a few intramural sports. Until you experience a football game or basketball game, you can’t begin to describe it. The student section at the games is a huge party with tons of school spirit and pride. The dorms are dorms. Filled with some great people, the rooms are small, weekends are puke fests, and the food is actually pretty good. The walk to class can be long.</p>

<p>The one negative thing I heard about Wisconsin before attending was that getting into the classes you want can be difficult. So far, this has proved very accurate. Lower your expectations in this area. You can find classes, but probably not the classes you want to take, and certainly not at the times you want. I don’t mean just trying to avoid 8am classes, I mean so that you can fit it a 4 hour work shift. It’s not impossible, just difficult.
My advisor told me that 2 of the classes I needed/planned on taking never fill up in the spring semester. I had an early registration time because of AP credits, and both classes were not only full, but the wait lists were also full before I could register. I plan to keep watching to see if anything opens.</p>