Going to grad school; what to do?

<p>Hey all, I'm currently a freshmen nursing student at UConn and I'm planning on going to grad school after I get my BSN, pass my NCLEX and work for 1 year. Of course, this is all assuming that everything goes according to plan. But one thing I want to know is, what should I do to make myself a competitive applicant? Also, what should my GPA be? This may be a little too early to ask, but I do want to start early. Thanks in advance.</p>

<p>my two cents…I would suggest calling a particular college and speaking with Masters program admissions staff. UMASS Dartmouth’s staff answered a lot of questions for me. You only have one year. I would think gpa, passing the nclex on first try, joining nursing organizations, letter of recommendation from employers and past instructors, don’t default or run late on any loans, become part of your colleges alumni and volunteer.</p>