Good schools for double major in dance?

I’m looking at schools to double major in dance and neuroscience (if they don’t have a neuroscience degree I could always go for biology or physics) and want to find a school that has strong programs in both. I am a top student (top 5% in my class at a competitive NYC public school) and trained at ABT, Martha Graham, and NYU Tisch. So far the only schools I’ve found that I really like for both dance and academics are UofM and Barnard… does anyone know what other schools may have strong programs in both where you can pursue a double major?

Depends what you are looking to achieve in dance, i.e. if the priority is to seek a professional career in dance before going back to medicine or if you just want to do dance in college (and then go to med school?). My D18 is strong academically but wants to try to become a professional dancer, so wants to do a BFA but still double major. She is ballet focused, so looked at Indiana, Oklahoma, Butler and Utah as top ballet schools. The latter three were all very encouraging of double majors, IU was not. It is still tough to fit other courses around the requirements of a BFA.

Utah is her favorite at present and is very generous with merit aid, allowing her to save her college fund to go back to school later, or support her while she tries to find a dance company position.

1 Like

Are you thinking of a BFA? That can be tricky with a double-major, and maybe even not possible at NYU.

Some places you might look at are

Mount Holyoke
Vassar
Elon
Sarah Lawrence
Rutgers/Mason Gross
New School/Eugene Lang
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Ohio State
Southern Methodist
Temple
Ohio University