Greek life at Alabama

<p>Being half hispanic coming from two different cultures, what would my chances be to get a bid from a White House? Considering the fact that I have a high degree of credentials & come from a good social economic background as well as a good social background. </p>

<p>You should post in the Alabama section. However, I personally know Hispanic kids who have pledged at Bama.</p>

<p><a href=“University of Alabama - College Confidential Forums”>http://talk.collegeconfidential.com/university-alabama/&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;

<p>Unfortunately, at Bama, high grades and high socioeconomic standing means nothing. Don’t waste your time trying to rush at a white sorority or fraternity. I’m going to say what a lot Bama lovers are afraid to admit. They are racist. The alum do not want non white students in the Panhellenic sororities and fraternities. They have even threatened to cut off funding in one house if they admitted a minority. If you are going to rush, don’t try to rush at a white sorority or fraternity. There is a lot of segregation on campus and there is most definitely segregation in Greek Life.</p>

<p>@AnnieBeats I’m curious as to how you became an expert on Greek life at Alabama because you are incorrect on several points. I am no Alabama-lover by any measure, but as an SEC alum with 4 years in a GLO, I do know how things worked there in the past as well as recently.</p>

<p>OP, it simply isn’t true that high grades and high socioeconomic standing mean nothing. You don’t mention if you are male/female, instate or out of state, but I do know that freshman girls get cut from sorority rush all the time because their high school gpa simply isn’t high enough. Rush at Alabama is extremely competitive and while students with lower gpa’s can be admitted to the school, girls whose gpas are subpar are routinely cut early because the chapters there have too many high-achieving pnms to risk a bid on someone who may bring the house average down.</p>