Help me find an affordable public uni?

Hi all. I have applied to many LACs but now I am doubting if that’s a fit for me…
I have a hard time making friends and think I could easily get lonely at a small school. My current hs is small and I always think “I already know everyone here” when I think about making friends. And it bums me out.

So I am thinking more about a larger school. I really like SUNY Binghamton, and I’m a NY resident. The size is good, lots of facilities. Also I love schools that have nature preserves, farm, etc. I intend to major in Economics, possibly engineering.

Are there other public schools like Binghamton? My EFC is 0 so affordability matters. Schools I like are University of Washington, UNC Chapel Hill. Generally interested in schools in Washington, Florida, North Carolina, or my state: NY.

Forget OOS schools short of UNC and UVA that meet need. Staying in state is the smart choice.

There’s lots of great schools LIKE ALABAMA AND ARIZONA with strong merit for top students. But that still doesn’t cover housing.

Public schools are supported for in state, not OOS students.

Don’t know your stats but New Mexico and Utah have programs that include housing. So u may check them and bounce your stats against them.

Good luck.

2 Likes

North Carolina public universities generally, and UNC-Chapel Hill, are not going to give you money if you are an OOS applicant – although one exception may be Western Carolina University. Also, unless you have elite test scores and very high grades, you are likely not going to be admitted to UNC-CH (check out Sections C7 and C9-C11 of its Common Data Set); and, even if you are, it is going to cost you at least $47K as an OOS student. Do check out WCU, however.

University of Washington is also going to be a hard nut to crack for OOS applicants unless you have very high standardized test scores and grades.

Have you run the EFC for other SUNY schools?

1 Like