High Math Courses Professor Reccomendations?

<p>Hi guys, I am a transfer student for Fall 2011 and will be a sophomore in the College of Engineering (Mechanical). Through my experiences I have realized that the effectiveness of your professor is vital in the amount of succes and/or time you have in the course. I would like recommendations from those who have taken Calculus III and/or Differential Equations and had a great professor.</p>

<p>Thank you</p>

<p>Look in the Fall timetable (course list), find the professor’s names and try ratemyprofessor.com</p>

<p>Ok, I will definitely try that! I would still like some personable comments on who are great teachers for Calc III and Differential Equations.</p>

<p>My daughter had only horrible professors in the math department until she took a 400-level class with Prof. Bertrand. She was not the only one in the class to be convinced that she could major in math after all because of the quality of his teaching. She also loved Prof. Kiselev and liked Prof. Viaclovsky, but these profs tend to teach only high level classes. Good luck finding anybody decent at the intermediate level. She has found the ratings at ratemyprofessors to be accurate.</p>

<p>[Robert</a> L. Wilson, Jr.](<a href=“http://www.math.wisc.edu/~wilson/]Robert”>Robert L. Wilson, Jr.)</p>

<p>Go to the UW site and search under math and distinquished teaching award. You’ll find some every other year or so in the math dept.</p>

<p>Wilson is great but I think he’s basically retired right now. I have him for Math 340 (Elementary Matrix and Linear Algebra) and I don’t think he’ll be teaching much longer. Your two options for 234 next semester are Brian Street and Mikhail Feldman. Street looks like a recent hire from the University of Toronto so that might be your best bet. Feldman has only so-so ratings.</p>