High school admission

I graduated from ninth grade in this summer vacation(High school starts at 10 grade in where I live).I want to use the tenth grade to apply for an American high school, and then repeat the tenth grade.
My target is a top30 boarding school (no green card or US citizenship) and I want to know if most schools in this class will accept students with my conditions.
If accepted, what is the best score for TOEFL and ssat.

1 Like

Personal conditions:Top10 bilingual school in China,Top3 in the grade,but no extracurricular specialty.

Yes, there are some openings for 10th graders at most schools. Certainly not as many as for 9th, definitely more than the openings available for 11th.

Not having a greencard or US citizenship is not an issue. After you are accepted at an accredited school, you need to apply for a student visa. A bigger issue is $. If your family can afford the tuition, great. (There is very little financial aid available for foreign nationals. Well, pretty much none.)

I guess the higher TOEFL and SSAT the better, but scores alone won’t get you in. Even scores and grades alone are not enough. There has to be something else in your application beyond grades and high test scores. You don’t participate in sports, play an instrument, or other extracurriculars, so what do you do when you aren’t studying? Do you have a hobby? Do you do volunteer work? You have to at least come up with something that makes you sound interesting and capable of contributing to the school community.

Also, think about what kind of school would match you best - size, formality, teaching philosophy, sports, etc. For example, if you’re completely disinterested in sports, a very sporty school would probably be a bad fit. Many schools require that you participate in a sport every season (fall, winter, spring), but there are some that allow you to substitute other activities.

Finally, think beyond the top 30 - “widen your net”.

1 Like

Thanks for your reply