Hispanic: College Class or 2018

<p>I attend Fairfield Preparatory College, a school with around 230, male freshman and I rank among the top 5 with a 4.0 non-weighted GPA. We don't do class ranks so I could be 5th or 1st for all I know. Being a Freshman I obviously have very little gauge as to what I will receive on my SATs. I play football and rugby, I'm in the investor's club, SEED (a diversity program), and I am also the treasurer of an organization dedicated to service and have every intention on becoming the president Junior year. </p>

<p>My question is how much being half-hispanic and not needing financial aid will help me get into a Georgetown, Duke, Dartmouth, etc. College students can get some sort of idea as to how much being hispanic helps.</p>

<p>See post #2 in this thread for some of my thoughts/experience:</p>

<p><a href=“http://talk.collegeconfidential.com/hispanic-students/931488-ivy-league-admissions-nhrps.html?highlight=ivy[/url]”>http://talk.collegeconfidential.com/hispanic-students/931488-ivy-league-admissions-nhrps.html?highlight=ivy&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;

<p>How do they know whether or not you are disadvantaged because many have scholarships at our school? So I have a 4.05 and my friend whom Fairfield Prep gives full financial aid has a 3.95 would have a better, equal, or worse chance than I?</p>

<p>Schools (even need blind ones) get indications of SES and other disadvantages in many ways. Some things are inferred from information such as zip code, parental education, HS, ECs, etc. Also, an applicant can indicate if they are low income or have overcome adversity directly, for instance it might come out in their essay or other information that they provide. If I was a student attending a private prep school on FA, I would definitely find some way to state that on my application.</p>

<p>I don’t do chances, CC has an entire forum dedicated to Chances.</p>

<p>oh thank you can you send me the link to it? I’m new to this site. Thanks!</p>