How are kids from California treated at Alabama? And a question about football

My daughter was accepted to Alabama and she is from Orange County California. We’ve “heard” that kids from outside the South are treated nice but they are never really fully accepted. Is there any truth to this, or is this a fallacy?

Also, can freshmen get into the home football games, or is there more demand than supply?

Thanks in advance.

Greg
Anaheim Hills, CA.

OOS are fully accepted by their peers.

As for home games, freshmen can get tickets under either package A or package B (roughly half of home games).

I’m a sophomore from the Pasadena area. I was initially sceptical about how I would feel in such a different culture, but the city of Tuscaloosa and the University are very diverse in terms of where people are from. There are actually many students from California and most peoples’ reaction to my hometown is “oh, cool!” before we just move on to talking about something else, haha. It’s definitely not something to worry about as long as your daughter is open minded. I have had to learn to be more accepting and respectful of religion and politics outside of the liberal bubble I was raised in.

If you have any more questions about my experience coming to Alabama from California, feel free to message me. I absolutely love it here and choosing UA was best decision of my life so far. It’s a school on the rise with lots to offer in terms of social life and academic programs.

Who told you that? Were they talking about southern schools in general or Alabama specifically?

If they’re talking about bama, then they don’t know what the heck they’re talking about. (BTW…I’m from Placential and Anaheim Hills (I lived near Canyon High School for 15 years before moving to Alabama).