How hard is Bioengineering? Premed q's, major switch q's, and bio honor q's

Brief introduction:
I’m an incoming freshman to TAMU Fall 2019. I intend to become a medical doctor and plan on pursuing a pre-med track. I am considering transferring to UT or Rice but must conduct more research first.

At the current moment, I face a dilemma: I’ve been admitted to bioengineering which is just general engineering for all freshman. I’m worried that with such vigorous courses, my GPA is gonna be affected and I’ll struggle to maintain a ‘premed worthy GPA’.

Am I hurting myself by choosing to major in engineering with the goal of medicine?

Here’s what led to this:

• Bioengineering, according to my parents, offers more ‘opportunities’ as in if I suddenly decided medicine isn’t for me, I’ll have a viable ‘fallback plan’. The problem, the way I see it, is that this ‘fallback plan’ may be a self-inducing prophecy, as now it’ll be (much?) harder for me to pursue a med track with a tough freshman year course.
  • If I instead transfer to biology, will I be able to graduate with any useful skills if I decide not to pursue medicine?

Some other questions:

• Can I even transfer to biology before the school term starts? If so, I’m not exactly sure about where to start.
  • Is it even possible to apply for honors biology at this point if I wish to transfer?
  • Is it possible to get honors dorm at this time?

In the event that I stay in engineering rather than transferring:

• I have not yet applied for honors Engineering, but have started an application. Is it too late for that as well?

Thanks, any thoughts and advice, and answers are much appreciated!