How important is the SSAT?

Hi everyone! I’m an international student from Portugal applying to boarding schools, and since English isn’t my first language I’m not very confident on my SSAT Verbal and Reading Section… I’m taking it because it’s mandatory for some schools, do you think a 70th percentile is very bad or it might be enough?

Of course for some schools it’s enough. For some – very good! – schools a score in the 50th percentile is enough.

I’m applying to really competitive schools because of my financial need, like Exeter, Lawrenceville and Deerfield. Do you think is maybe enough for them? I have good extracurriculars and my interviews went well until now…

70 SSAT + financial need is going to make the rest of your application critical for tippy-top schools like Exeter, L’Ville or Deerfield. If you’re applying to really competitive schools because of financial need, check out Mercersburg Academy, a competitive school that has been generous with aid to certain applicants.

I don’t know the most recent effectiveness of going Test-Optional at the boarding school level - perhaps someone else here can speak to that. There used to be a great thread that captured the results of boarding school applicants - having a brain cramp right now and forgetting the title but it was an annual list. We found that to be a useful resource.

The SSAT is used as only one part of the picture. Different middle schools cover different material and grade using different metrics. For example, two schools may both require students to submit corrections of questions they got wrong on tests, but only one of them may improve the student’s grade as a result. So, 2 students, same work, different grades! This can make GPA comparisons tricky for AOs. The SSAT is one of the few things that allows schools to compare applicants “equally”.