How much harder is it to get in as a voice major than an instrumentalist?

Is it a lot harder to get in as a voice major than as a major in a less common instrument? My kid wants to go to college for a BM in music education or music theory. Right now, he sings, does some musical theater, and plays both bass and trombone, but it seems like he needs to choose one to study seriously in high school if he’s going to make it through auditions.

How much role should the difficulty of getting in play in his decision about what to focus on?

I have a S23 who is trying to make those hard decisions right now. I am not an expert and this is our first go around with true college admissions and with music. (My other S19 chose a tech school path).

S23 is in 3 choirs. Plays flute and some basic guitar and piano. Hes doing his 8th musical this weekend. Yet he also has emails from colleges coaches in football, rugby, and esports.

Tentative major is something in music. Possibly performance with some business classes or a true double major. Or music education or something music business related.

Experts correct me if I am wrong but it seems that so far the auditions for music ed seem much less competitive and less stressful by looking at the requirements. Also, the fact that my son is in a variety of music based activities has been seen as a positive.

After the musical ends this weekend my son will be working with a voice coach to record auditions for out of state schools. We are still very early in the process.

From what I have read, musical theater majors seem to be the most cut throat followed by female vocal performance.

We’re way earlier than you. Mine is a S26, so just trying to figure out what makes sense in high school.