How to Know if Nursing is Right for me?

<p>I majored in psychology and I graduated with my BS in December 2012. Long story short, since getting my degree, I had one job in a mental institute and it SUCKED. When I was in college, I realized that a Masters degree just wasn't for me, since I just wasn't that into the major anymore (higher level classes I took late junior and senior year really turned me off). I am currently unemployed and as you probably already know, my employment prospects are pathetic. I talked to several adults (career counselor, some friends' parents', and a few old professors) and a few of them said I should consider nursing. They said the employment prospects were good, the pay was $30/hour, male nurses are more desirable, and it would only take about 2 years for me to become an RN. All of this sounds great, but it is meaningless if it's not the right fit for me. What are some ways I can see if the major is a good fit for me? Job shadowing? Observing some nursing classes? I would appreciate any input. Thanks in advance.</p>

<p>In addition to the ideas you stated (which make sense), you might also take training to be a certified nursing assistant at a community college. It is not a long period of training, and it can provide a source of part-time income while you are in school, and would make your application stronger. In my state, you can complete the training for $1000 and in a few weeks. You will quickly find out if you want to be in the field once you are working in a facility. Also, if you have not completed all of the pre-reqs for a RN program, you might take those classes now. That will put in a position to have your applications ready when they are due. (For many nursing programs, the earlier you apply, the better your chances)… You can always decide to not accept an offer of admission, and all you have lost is the application fees. </p>