How to save money on VT?

<p>Hey everyone,</p>

<p>As of recently, I've decided on going to Virginia Tech for my undergrad degree pursuit. Unfortunately, as the case for most students, college seems that it'll cost a lot for my family. I'm a high school student from Connecticut, which means I'll be paying out of state tuition (about 40,000 a year). I've been awarded a $1000 private scholarship, got $5,500 in federal loans which I'll be taking, then my family can pay about 9000/10,000 a year. After all this, there's still about $23,000 left, which I may have to take out in student loans and would much rather not have to deal with that.</p>

<p>Any suggestions on how I can cut the prices from the estimated cost of attendance and bring my overall costs down?</p>

<p>Any help is greatly appreciated and thanks for all of it!</p>

<p>If you have to take out 20k in loans per year then do not go to VT. There is no school worth 80k in loans, especially in the current economy. If it comes down to it go to a community college for a couple years (or some other local cheaper school) and transfer. But holy crap do not take out 20k in loans per year.</p>

<p>Isn’t it too late to enroll to other schools? Because I was accepted into my state school, which would be a lot cheaper, but I already accepted federal loans and enrolled to VT. Also, the May 1st Deadline has passed so I’m not even sure what to do if you’re saying not to go to VT, any suggestions?</p>

<p>I’m not sure what the deadlines are, but if you’re really looking at 20k/year in loans talk to whoever you have to talk to, pay whatever fee you have to, do whatever you have to do to not end up in that situation.</p>