How's UA & the South?

<p>Hey guys, I’m an international student from China who recently got admitted to UA with the presidential scholarship (SAT:1430/2180, GPA:3.89). Being a international student from a not-so-affluent lower-middle class Chinese family and wanting to go to a med school after graduation (I know this sounds outright crazy, but I’ve done my research and I’m willing to take the risk), I’m really taking into consideration the financial aspect of my post-secondary education and therefore UA appears as quite an attraction to me.</p>

<p>Having lived in Connecticut for the past two years ('cause my mom went to Yale for a research opportunity), I have no idea whatsoever as to what the south is like maybe except for that there aren’t that many Asians as are up in the north and the only places I’m familiar with are places like New Hampshire and Mass. Therefore sometimes I wonder if I’m making the right decision, because I have a bad feeling about going to a school dominated by football jocks and fratboys. The only vague images I have for the south are mere stereotypes from comedians like Bill Hicks or my friends (“Don’t go there they’re all bunch of racists” lol ) When I tell my friends that I’m really considering this state school in Alabama, they are all like " You are joking, right? ", which frustrates me a great deal</p>

<p>So here’s my question: How is UA / the South (Weather, people, dorms, intellectual seriousness, independents in the school, attitude towards Asians, local music scene, etc?) and how is UA for a premed student ?</p>

<p>Welcome!!!</p>

<p>People aren’t going to give you a hard time for being Asian. lol </p>

<p>The people are very friendly. MUCH more friendlier than what you’ve likely experienced in the NE. lol </p>

<p>The weather is:</p>