I am a Psych Major, which school should I attend?

• I am majoring in Psychology

• I want to attend a school with a good party life (more frats than bars).

• I plan on going pre-med to become a psychiatrist

• School spirit and pride is very important to me

• Connections after college is important as well

• I got into Ohio State, Texas A&M University, University of Delaware, Hofstra University, University of Tampa.

• I am still waiting to hear back from SUNY Stony Brook and SUNY Binghamton

*Although the cost of attendance isn’t the biggest dealbreaker for me I’m am going to list the colleges from least to most expensive

1. SUNY (I would be getting in-state tuition)
  2. Texas A&M
  3. Hofstra, University of Delaware, and University of Tampa
  4. Ohio State University

My daughter is a senior exercise major at UD, tons of school spirit, work hard play hard vibe, plus a lot of other stuff to do besides party (but she’s a big fan of the dages and frat parties, turns 21 in a week and can’t wait to go to the bars on Main Street). She was accepted into every DPT program she applied to (10). She is graduating a year early because they accepted her AP and DE credits (30). She’s loved her experience there, even during Covid (she had signed a lease for fall 2020 in fall 2019 so at least got to be with friends).

What is the difference in cost? Would you need to take on debt to attend any of them?

I would be out of state for all of the universities listed so I am going to be in debt no matter the university I attend. Going from least to most expensive after Scholarships and Finical Aid.

Texas A&M
University of Delaware
Ohio State

What state are you from? Did you apply to your in-state public universities?

I’m from New York, I applied to SUNY Stony Brook and Binghamton but have not heard back yet.

1 Like