I want to be a Nurse: Where do I begin?

<p>I am a Sophomore in HS and I am completely certain that I want to become a Nurse! Starting today, I want to make a fresh start and focus on preparing for Nursing School. Last year and so far this year, my grades have been sub par (mostly B's with A's scattered here and there and a few C's and one D). Not impressive, believe me I know. But I also know that if I set my mind to it and get organized, I can get my grades up to most A's and a few B's. The next issue, ECs. I have been working as a cashier at the same family-owned grocery store for almost two years now, and plan on doing so until I go to College. I also babysit on the side. My family isn't made of money, and working is the only option for me. This unfortunately does not leave time for sports. I also write for the school paper, and will almost definitely be an editor by Senior year. Do I need to do more? My SATs scores should be very good because I test very well and do good under pressure, too. </p>

<p>I have a few main questions. How high of a GPA do competitive Nursing programs expect? What ECs do they want? SAT scores? Any information you have would be amazing!</p>

<p>What advice do you have for me? My dream is to attend a good Nusring School in New England (think Northeastern, Simmons, URI, Sacred Heart, and UNH). Any suggestions and tips on making this dream a reality would be greatly appreciated! Thankyou so much in advance :)</p>

<p>bump bump bump</p>

<p>Why don’t you start your research looking over this entire website.</p>

<p>[Starting</a> Out | Discover Nursing](<a href=“http://www.discovernursing.com/starting-out#.UH9G0I7R3zI]Starting”>http://www.discovernursing.com/starting-out#.UH9G0I7R3zI)</p>

<p>thanks for the link :slight_smile: very helpful</p>