IB and AP Course Comparisons

<p>There seems to be a lot of confusion over whether a specific AP class is better than its IB counterpart and vice versa. I am going to give my own opinion by comparing these courses (I am an IB and AP student). Feel free to add on or edit.</p>

<p>In order of rigor (least rigorous to most rigorous)</p>

<p>Math/Science:</p>

<p>MATH: IB Math SL = AP Statistics < AP Calculus AB < AP Calculus BC = IB Math HL</p>

<p>PHYSICS: AP Physics 1 < IB Physics SL < AP Physics 2 < AP Physics B < IB Physics HL < AP Physics C</p>

<p>CHEMISTRY: IB Chemistry SL < IB Chemistry HL = AP Chemistry</p>

<p>BIOLOGY: IB Biology SL < AP Biology < IB Biology HL</p>

<p>Humanities:</p>

<p>ENGLISH: IB English SL < AP Language < AP Literature = IB English HL</p>

<p>BUSINESS/ECONOMICS: IB Business/Economics SL < AP Macro/Micro < IB Business HL < IB Economics HL</p>

<p>HISTORY: AP Human Geography < IB History SL < AP European < AP World < AP US < IB History HL</p>

<p>I know I left out quite a few classes, but for the ones I did rank, I have had experience with and thus am comfortable with these rankings. Once again, feel free to edit and to add on more course comparisons!</p>

<p>These comparisons are probably accurate content-wise, but my perception is that IB exams are much harder than the AP counterparts. I could be wrong, but it says a lot when nearly half (48%) of Calculus BC students scored 5s this past year, while the number of 7s in HL Math from May 2013 was a comparatively meager 8%.</p>

<p>Edit: Actually, looking at data from the other subjects, while IB grading does seem overall stricter, the difference isn’t as pronounced as it is in Math, and in fact, subjects like Biology are graded more strictly in AP than in IB.</p>

<p>IB Mathematics HL < IB Further Mathematics HL</p>

<p>MATH: IB Math SL = AP Statistics < AP Calculus AB < AP Calculus BC <= IB Math HL < IB Further Math HL</p>