IB student transferred in the 11th grade... PLEASE HELP

<p>Hello,</p>

<p>I recently moved from FL, to Buffalo, NY. I am a junior in the IB Program, and I have always been a straight A student. At my last school, my ranking was probably in the top 10 students. However my school in FL was in a rough area, and outside of the IB Program it was a mess. I moved a week before school started, and my new school is in the suburbs of Buffalo. The environment is different, I wouldn't necessarily say that it is a world apart. However the first quarter is almost complete, and I have around 4 B's. I studied for my math test today and got a 61% on it so I am a little bummed out by that. My mom thinks I am having a mental block, where I feel inferior to the more well-to-do children in my classes. Any advice? Do you think I am worrying too much?</p>

<p>Hi megaguymontag,</p>

<p>Please do not feel inferior to anyone. You may not be doing as well as your peers as of now, but that doesnt mean you are inferior to them at all. Anyone can bounce back at anytime, never write yourself or anyone off.</p>

<p>The best way to get a good score on math is by doing as many problems as you can. Practice indeed makes perfect, specially in math. I personally used this website: <a href=“http://www.mechminds.ca”>www.mechminds.ca</a> to help me understand specific questions and it was very useful.</p>

<p>Again, keep yourself motivated and keep trying! :)</p>