IMSA CO 2027 applicant forum!

Hi everyone, I’m a current freshman in high school looking to apply as a CO 2027 member at IMSA! I created this forum for anyone else who is also interested in applying, anyone who has already experienced the IMSA admissions process/has some insight regarding it, and anyone who has/is attending IMSA. This is a great place to discuss stats, as well as any questions we may have about IMSA or the application.

Also, something to keep in mind: Remember when sharing any information (particularly stats and demographics) try to keep it a little vague and avoid including a lot of details that will make yourself easily identifiable. We want to keep everyone here safe :))))

1 Like

I’m gonna start off with some questions I have and stats about myself!

Hey everyone, you can call me Mags! I’m a freshman at a suburban public high school in Illinois. I am most interested in science (specifically biology), but I also love math and robotics. My GPA within the last two years has ranged from a 3.9-4.0. I take the honors track, so I am taking the hardest classes offered to freshman at my school. My current math class is Algebra 2 Trig honors and my science class is Chemistry honors. I am very involved in extracurriculars, but the most significant include STEM club, math team, robotics team, band, JV tennis, swim team, key club, model UN, and youth group (through my church). I have received a number of awards both STEM and non STEM related. Lastly, I have participated in a number of IMSA programs and events. I have gone to a math competition hosted by IMSA, 2 hour tour, summer@IMSA, and I am doing the IMSA RISE program currently. (Also, I don’t have SAT scores to report as of right now, so I’m not sure how good those will be.)

Questions:
Based on some of my stats, what do you think my chances are of getting in?

Is there any I should be doing differently to help boost my application?

What is an ideal SAT score?