Is a 3.5 gpa in IB good enough for Ivies?

I’m currently a sophomore. This means that next year I will be taking full IB courses. I don’t know if I’ll be able to make a straight 4.0 throughout my junior yr. Should I be extremely worried? Will Ivies put less thought on my gpa because I’m in IB?

No. Not when there are students in the IB program with a 4.0 applying for these colleges.

I had a 4.35 cumulative (freshmen to senior year). My school grades a A- as a 3.7/4.7 weighted. Junior year I had a 4.7 GPA. Was rejected by every ivy league.

@ANormalSeniorGuy damn. Did you have good extracurriculars ,a good essay, good recommendation letters, and good SAT/ACT scores? Your situation just seems hard to believe.

It is not hard to believe at all.
You can have all of that and more and still get rejected.

Agreed. Every year, each Ivy League school rejects applicants with 4.0 GPA’s and perfect ACT/SAT scores, while accepting applicants with lesser scores. Stats are only one part of the application.

@digitalreform yep to all. 10 years of classical double bass, toured internationally and was all state orchestra, even was principal at many orchestras and second chair at Stanford’s official collegiate orchestra. ACT of 34 and many of my recs said I would be famous one day. Its very easy to believe

@dgitalreform Brown (a “lesser” Ivy) rejects 7 out of 10 valedictorians

You shouldn’t be worry too much about GPAs of students who are not in your school. Colleges will compare your stats with the stats of your classmates (and with those of from previous years of course). GPA stats changes from one high school to another. For example, no student got a GPA above 3.85/4.00 in my kids school in the last decade.

Furthermore, as the others pointed out GPA is not the only important thing and even with a perfect GPA with the most challenging coursework, getting in to an Ivy+ college is quite hard.