Is Greek Life Worth It?

<p>Hi!
I’m a high school senior coming in for Fall 2013. I’m a ChBE major and was accepted to the Honors program. I am an OOS student from south Florida, and I am a little nervous about moving so far away (almost 12hrs) from all of my family and friends. I visited campus over the summer and fell in love with all that UA has to offer, Shockingly, I was also incredibly impressed with the Greek houses. I’ve never considered myself one to join a sorority, but since my visit it has become more and more of a thought. There are a few things that really concern me though:</p>

<p>1.) No one in my family has every been part of a sorority or fraternity. Won’t that be detrimental to me?
2.) How diverse are the sororities?
3.) Will I even be able to put the necessary time forth if I were to get a bid?</p>

<p>I’m just curious if it would be a good fit for me…I’d rather know ahead of time rather than put all of the effort forth and not get a bid. </p>

<p>Thanks so much & Roll Tide!!!</p>

<p>Hi! Well first off, I’m also a senior attending UA in the Fall of 2013 as a freshman and thinking of sororities and have virtually no greek-affiliations. but the advice I’ve gotten so far, is that they’re worthwhile, and you don’t have to be a legacy in order to join. It might help with some, but the biggest help having affiliations is for finding recommendations. And as for your other questions I’m not sure because I’m trying to figure it out too.
but good luck girl! :)</p>

<p>1.) No one in my family has every been part of a sorority or fraternity. Won’t that be detrimental to me?</p>

<p>-No it won’t be detrimental, although you may have to work harder to find recommendations (recommendations are NOT optional). There is a lot of info out there (Greekchat, sorority101, this forum) to help you. Do NOT go to the sites that discuss tiers or reputations - that will not help you</p>

<p>2.) How diverse are the sororities?