Is it harder to make the top UCs (UCLA and UCB) as an international student?

I’m an international student from Asia who applied to both schools and was rejected at UCLA and waitlisted at UCB. I know one factor that definitely made it more difficult for me to gain admission was the fact that applied to both school’s engineering programs with Com Sci as my major (which I understand has an acceptance rate of around 8% for both). With that as a disadvantage already, I was wondering whether me being international also gave me a disadvantage — my school is weird as since it’s an American international school, though my school is located in Asia, some of my peers who applied are in-state, some out-of-state, and some, like me, are international. I just want to figure out what I did wrong. Or I don’t know.

Yes. The Universities of California are funded by the taxpayers of California with their primary responsibility being to educate the residents of California. It is more difficult to get admitted as an international student. It is also more difficult to get admitted to engineering and computer science. These are very popular majors. UCLA and UCB are the most difficult of the Universities of California to get admitted to.

The Universities of California are also very expensive for out of state students. Financial aid is very rare. As an international student if you had gotten accepted you would almost certainly have been full pay.

There are a lot of universities in the US that have very good computer science programs.

@DadTwoGirls Is it more difficult for an international student to get in than an OOS student? Additionally, would it have been a better idea for me to apply undeclared or to Letters and Science and transfer to a CS major when I’m there?

“Is it more difficult for an international student to get in than an OOS student?”