Is it okay to have B's in high school sophomore year?

Hello, I am a sophomore in all honors except for english, however in my honors classes I have B’s is that okay? Will I still be able to get into university of miami?

It will diminish your chances of admission and if you continue to get B’s junior year it will greatly diminish your chances of admission.

Come on Bs for Yale a problem, U Miami not a huge priblem

Focus on getting at least A’s and B’s with a rigorous schedule for the rest of high school, and also make sure to prepare well for standardized testing. An ACT score around 30/SAT 1330 and those grades will give you a solid chance. Aim for higher though! Nothing is guaranteed in this process.

Do not discount the importance of extracurriculars as well - it’s definitely not too late for you to show some passion through your out-of-school activities if you have not already. This could be a deciding factor, so make sure to get/stay involved in something that you love.

They were Honors classes so they will know they were more rigorous. Just like A “B” grade in an AP class is worth “A” work. Junior year grades are more important than 10th so work on those.

Is your school a reputable college prep? Colleges consider that too and will give more leeway if they know it’s already rigorous. They review the school profile with the application.

We are in a college prep district, and trust me, "B"s won’t kill chances. There are still kids going to Ivy’s with one or two B’s on the transcript. My daughter just graduated from high school so we experienced college apps and I think more than ever, colleges are doing holistic admissions (considering more than just the data) and they want interesting students. Public schools have too many apps so they are more likely to look at data, while private schools have time to look at all aspects of the application and they don’t want just studying robots.