IU vs University of Washington

<p>So I am having a hard time deciding between these schools for nursing. I only just decided that I would like to become a nurse, I was originally going to major in bio so I have little background info on these nursing schools! Both of them aren't direct admit, so either way I am going to have to apply to the school. I live in IL so Indiana is closer, but it is still a 4 hour drive. IU is slightly cheaper, but only by $4000 a year so that isn't a big factor. Which is the better school? Will one of them be harder to get in to than the other? Does anyone have any experience with these programs? Thanks!!</p>

<p>I do not have any direct experience with either school but I can tell you this. From the Nursing Graduate Program degree rankings the Univ. of Washington is tied with Johns Hopkins and the Univ. of Pennsylvania as the top Nursing Program in the country. Indiana (Indiana-Purdue Program in Indianapolis) is rated number 15 (also extremely good). These rankings are from USN&WR. While these are Grad Program rankings they probably also reflect, at least to some degree, the quality of undergrad Nursing education one can receive at these schools. I can only assume as a result of these high rankings that competition for both programs is extremely high. You might want to check with each school’s Nursing dept. to see if they will give you any information on the number of applicants they get each year, the number they accept, and the GPA average for the students they accept. If you can get this information it would at least give you some idea of the competition you will be facing. Good luck to you.</p>