Junior Year Course Selection

I’m a sophomore in high school looking to plan my course selections for next year. I hope to major in a social science (leaning towards political science/international relations), and STEM is anathema to me. My course selections for next year are AP Lang, APUSH, AP Gov, APES, and AP seminar, alongside band and Latin 3. My parents, however, want me to take an AP math class next year (probably AP calc or AP stat) in place of AP seminar. I’m concerned that taking an AP math class with an already onerous workload would probably have the effect of lowering my overall GPA (I currently have a B in precalc HN, my lowest grade). They’re concerned that not taking an AP math class would cast me in an undesirable light for admissions, even though I could still potentially take one senior year. What’s the better option?

Well, you need a math class, although it doesn’t have to be AP. So which math class is your option.

Taking an elective in place of a core subject or doubling up on social science at the expense of math is not a valid option.

5 Likes

My school district allows it–precalc is enough to graduate with an advanced degree, so I don’t have to take a math class next year. (The standard track in my county is that precalc would be senior year.)

What colleges recommend almost always exceed what high schools require. My answer remains unchanged

6 Likes

From what I understand, most colleges recommend or require 3 yrs of math at least during high school. I think OP should take a math so as not to take any risks. Whether the class is AP, Stats, Calculus, or whatever depends on the individual, but taking something would be recommended.

You really need to take a math class each year - even if it’s not AP. And double check with other students about taking APES and APUSH in the same year. Not recommended where we are because they are both a lot of work at our school.

1 Like