Low gpa student strategies ?!?! [international, 2.9? GPA]

Hey everyone! International student here. I am from nepal and here’s my story

So my i am high school senior. I graduated high school with gpa of 2.9. So we have like class here;
I have 3.6, 3.9, 2.9, 2.9 in grade 9, 10, 11, 12 respectively. The reason of low grade in high school was carelessness.
My Sat will be something like 1500 plus assuming how i am getting consistent 1550 plus.

My question was should I even bother writing essays and LORs? Or should I commit to low ranked university which waive tution fee for 1500 plus sat scorer.

Any strategies that you recommend?
Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Btw my essay goes like this;
?! Formed a computer club in school and remained president for two years
?! One research is published on international journal site
?! Member of founding team of a social club which was recognized by metropolitan mayors for social welfare
?! Many club volunteers
?! Played district level cricket
?That’s itttt

First, you may want to wait a while (more than 10 mins) before bumping a post.

Now, regarding your question: if I understand correctly, you’re looking for schools that will provide full tuition (or maybe what you’re really looking for is full cost?).

There are very few schools that will provide full tuition/full ride to an international student, and they’re all very hard to get into. Unfortunately none of them will be realistic with the GPA and profile you have listed. The SAT score by itself won’t be sufficient, especially because most schools are test-optional these days.

My suggestion is to consider suitable choices in your home country.

Good luck.

10 Likes

The odds are against you. Your GPA is low, and moreover has a downward trend without any compelling explanation. Are you full pay? If not, that’s another strike against your chances. Therefore I’d advise committing wherever you can get in, which sounds like the school you mention.

4 Likes