Mental Health Accommodations at Hamilton

Hello! I am an admitted student for the Hamilton College Class of 2027 (current senior in high school). Trying to make my final college decision currently with 2 weeks left…

For students living with severe anxiety/depression, how has Hamilton been? Are professors at Hamilton supportive if I were to meet with them and explain my situation? Let me know if you have any experience in this area. It’s a deciding factor to know their mental health supports here are good and I want to hear some student/parent perspectives! Thanks!

There should be an office for students with disabilities that helps you get accommodations. You don’t have to do it on your own.

Yep, already in contact with accessibility and they’ve been very nice! Just looking for some student/parent perspectives on how it’s all worked out for them.

2 Likes

I don’t know about Hamilton specifically, but my son with a serious mental illness attended two very different types of schools and felt very supported at both. His illness was serious enough that I got involved. One professor told me he has several students every semester who need accommodations, so you won’t be alone! A department chair met with us and shared how she struggled with depression when she was younger and then personally helped my son sign up for classes.

I hope you get some specific feedback but I wanted to reassure you that you will get help. Just be sure to reach out when you need it. Good luck to you!

2 Likes

Are you being treated? Will you have a therapist while at Hamilton?

The Office of Disablities gives you letters to give to the professors, as you seem to know, so yes, you will talk with the professors to set up accommodations.