Million Dollar Band

<p>I’m very interested in joining the marching band. Does anyone have any insight as to how difficult it is to actually make it? </p>

<p>Also, how much of a time commitment would it be? I’ve been doing marching band throughout high school and have been able to maintain high grades and juggle other EC’s. Understandably, the MDB would be a much more substantial commitment. </p>

<p>I’m planning to go into Chem Eng + Pre-Med.</p>

<p>I’m a freshman in the MDB so I feel obliged to answer this. Basically, the chances of you making it depend on what instrument you play. Some are more selective than others, but in general it isn’t too hard. For sure, most people who audition make it so you should have a pretty good idea if you’re good enough or not.
It is definitely a pretty big time commitment. We have practice every day from 4-5:30, we play at all home games, and go to two or three away games, which essentially take up the whole weekend. That said, it certainly isn’t unmanageable, and I myself am a very involved person who rarely experiences trouble in that area. For what it’s worth, engineering is the most common major in band, far exceeding music majors.
I think if you enjoy band you should absolutely audition, because it’s an incredible experience. There is really nothing like marching into Byrant-Denny Stadium for the first time and staring up at the massive wall of people waiting for you to put on a good show. I say go for it.</p>

<p>Very helpful post thanks! That feeling, I can only imagine… haha. I play alto sax by the way. Hope to see you next year.</p>

<p>AuriYMAS - DS is also a freshman in the MDB, ChemE major and premed. He is handling the load along with MDB fairly well to this point. Of course everyone is different so you will have to decide for yourself.</p>