Mistake of taking honors classes I don’t know what to do

So I’m in my first year of high school (9th) and I took honors English and biology. I severely underestimated how hard these classes would be and now I have mid-high B’s in both. There may be a chance to pull up the bio to a A grade if I get a high score on the final but let’s assume this doesn’t happen. I’m most likely going to finish the year with As in the rest of my classes except algebra is a 91% so that got me stressing. I will get a A in AP comp science which is good. My question is do you think I have a chance in the running for Ivy League schools or are the Bs dealbreakers? I might do track next semester too. If not ivy leagues what about colleges like UCLA or USC. If anyone could answer this please cuz I’m stressing for my future. Thanks

1 Like

Why are you stressing? You’re in 9th grade and you’re being challenged - and nothing wrong with a B.

You may not find yourself in a UC or Ivy - too early to say - but then - so what? You’d be elsewhere.

Your future is not secure because you go to an Ivy or UC and your future isn’t a train wreck if you go somewhere else.

Forget the grades - make sure you learn these subjects because they build on one another. Get involved after school - club, sports, etc.

And be the best you.

In two years, you’ll be able to better assess where you are - UCs, Ivy, or otherwise.

Good luck.

4 Likes

Not a deal breaker. Keep doing your best.

2 Likes

Use this as an opportunity to figure out how to learn better. What do you need to do differently? Are you relying too much on memorization rather than using the concepts? How can you prepare better for tests - should you be reviewing your notes even when you don’t have a test?

Talk to the teacher. Consider a study group. Get pointers from a tutor if you can afford that.