New York Students who are looking to Apply to UC for fall 2016

Hello,

I’m a student from NYC and planning to apply to UC. I was looking through the UC’s out-of-state requirements and they seem pretty vague. It would be really great if any current student of UC from NY can give some advice for NY students who want to apply to UC and explain the requirements better. The perspective applicants can also discuss about the application and help each other.

Thank You

What is vague about these course requirements? Of course, these are the mimimums. Most applicants have 2-3 years social science, 4 years English, 4 years Math, 3-4 years Science, 1 year Visual/Performing Art and 3 years of a Language. You also need to take the most rigorous courses available at your HS, be it AP/IB or Dual Enrollment.

History/social science (“a”) – Two years, including one year of world history, cultures and historical geography and one year of U.S. history, or one-half year of U.S. history and one-half year of American government or civics.

English (“b”) – Four years of college preparatory English that integrates reading of classic and modern literature, frequent and regular writing, and practice listening and speaking.

Mathematics (“c”) – Three years of college-preparatory mathematics that include or integrate the topics covered in elementary and advanced algebra and two- and three-dimensional geometry.

Laboratory science (“d”) – Two years of laboratory science providing fundamental knowledge in at least two of the three disciplines of biology, chemistry and physics.

Language other than English (“e”) – Two years of the same language other than English or equivalent to the second level of high school instruction.

Visual and performing arts (“f”) – One year chosen from dance, music, theater or the visual arts.