Northwestern or Columbia

I am a transfer student and would enter either of these schools as a second-semester sophomore. Cost is the same. I prefer not being in an urban location slightly. I am a Cinema and Media Studies major at my current school and would major in Communication Studies at NU, while Columbia doesn’t admit by major. I’m interested in writing/digital media but Columbia doesn’t seem to have a specific program for this. However, I’m unsure if going to Columbia is advantageous for grad school if I choose to go that route. I’m very unsure of my interests career wise but hope that either of these institutions could have the resources to help me with that.

It won’t be. They’re peer schools on the same tier. If anything, NU Communications is more renown.
Northwestern is also less urban.

6 Likes

Everything you write says northwestern - so not sure why you are questioning.

You could go to Murray State and you’d still get into a great grad school if you were the right person. So you already know where you need to go. Then you forgot that Northwestern is world class in communications…

1 Like

Agree that for OP, Northwestern University is the better option.

As an aside: Even though Northwestern admits by school (or by major), it is easy to switch schools and it is easy to double or triple major (or add minors) as all students have access to Weinberg.

4 Likes

I’m first gen so I don’t know much about prestige. I have the general gist that it’s good for having connections and that Columbia has more of it where I’m from.

If you’re talking about grad school, Columbia won’t give you an edge over NU. Folks in that world know enough to know they are peers. The 2 schools do have more or less alumni in different regions but also in different professions. In marketing as well as media/journalism, NU has one of the most dominant brands/networks. Columbia also has a top j-school, but that is a grad school so don’t know how much that would help undergrads.

2 Likes